Only members can participate in our design competitions, so join now and create your solution to a social challenge.

Become A Member

Featured Non-Profit

Craftmark-Handmade in India

Craftmark-Handmade in India

Aid, Poverty, Arts & Culture

Craftmark denotes authentic Indian handicrafts and helps artisans to access markets

View All Non-Profits

Featured Member

Paul Thurston

Paul Thurston

London, United Kingdom

Head of Design at Thinkpublic

Design Thinking & Doing.

View All Members Become A Member


Our commitment to improving life through social design has been with us since the beginning. This is who we are and why we’re here.

DESIGN 21: Social Design Network's mission is to inspire social activism through design. We connect people who want to explore ways design can positively impact our many worlds, and who want to create change here, now.

Blog / View all (14) Blog Posts

Carnival of the Green # 151!

Environment, Communication Design


DESIGN 21 is proud to host this week's Carnival of the Green.

Check out Last Week's Carnival of the...

Advisory Board

Having contact with key people in different fields is how DESIGN 21 stays relevant and energized. Our Advisory Board members act as supporters and advisors to DESIGN 21: Social Design Network. They include opinion leaders in the fields of design, education, business, media and public affairs. This dynamic group not only helps promote the Network, but participates in competition juries, publicity events and other initiatives.

Regina Aguilar, Designer (Honduras)
Marianna Amatullo, Director International Initiatives and Designmatters at the Art Center College of Design (USA)
Allison Arieff, Senior Content Lead for IDEO (USA)
Eduardo Barroso Neto, Designer (Brazil)
Rick Bennett, Senior Lecturer at School of Design Studies College of Fine Arts, UNSW, and Founder/Co-Convenor, Omnium Creative Network [OCN] (Australia)
Niti Bhan, Strategic Design Planning Consultant (India)
Christian Biecher, Designer (France)
Michel Bouisson, Head of Communication Department with designers and schools at VIA / Valorisation de l’innovation dans l’ameublement (France)
Erwan Bouroullec, Designer (France)
Ronan Bouroullec, Designer (France)
Wendy Brawer, Founding Director of Green Map System (USA)
Anne-Marie Boutin, President of the Agency for the Promotion of Industrial Creation / APCI (France)
David Carlson, Designer (Sweden)
Halim Choueiry, Designer and teacher (Lebanon)
Matali Crasset, Designer (France)
Cheick Diallo, Designer (Mali)
Christian Duc, Designer (Viet Nam)
Marcela Echavarría, Designer (Colombia)
Ghassem Fardanesh, former Senior Physical Planner at UNHCR (Iran)
Mia Ferrara Pelosi, Vice-President and Owner of Global Village Shelters LLC (USA)
Monica Förster, Designer (Sweden)
Emiliano Godoy, Designer (Mexico)
Nicholas Goldsmith, Senior Principal at FTL Design Engineering Studio (USA)
Chantal Hamaide, Director of Intramuros Magazine (France)
Richard Hutten, Designer (The Netherlands)
Debera Johnson, Chair of the Department of Industrial Design at Pratt Institute (USA)
Hella Jongerius, Designer (The Netherlands)
Toshiyuki Kita, Designer and industrial and craft design teacher (Japan)
Jacques Lange, President of the Icograda Executive Board of Directors (South Africa)
Jeremy Lehrer, Design writer (USA)
Jennifer Leonard, Designer strategist at IDEO (CA, USA)
Daniel Libeskind, Director Studio Daniel Libeskind (USA)
Michael Rakowitz, Artist, Associate Professor, Art Theory and Practice, Northwestern University, and DESIGN 21 Grand Prix winner 2002
Jean-Pierre Rossie, Anthropologist and Writer at the Stockholm International Toy Research Center / SITREC (Belgium)
Jens Martin Skibsted, Designer and Founder/Co-Founder of Biomega, Actics, and Skibsted Ideation (Denmark)
Jae-jin Shim, Vice President/Chief of Display and Media Design Laboratory at the Corporate Design Center of LG Electronics (Seoul, Rep. of Korea) and Icsid Board Member
Cynthia E. Smith, Curator of Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum (USA)
Krister Svensson, Director of the Stockholm International Toy Research Center / SITREC (Sweden)
Susan Szenazy, Editor-in-Chief of Metropolis Magazine (USA)
Lise Vejse Klint, Program Director INDEX (Denmark)
Torben Vestergaard Frandsen, Director of Development at Vestergaard Frandsen A/S (Denmark)
Omar Vulpinari, Creative Director of the Visual Communication Department at Fabrica, the Benetton communication center (Rep. of San Marino)
Laetitia Wolff, Editorial Director Surface Magazine (USA)
Michael Young, Designer (China)
Peter Zec, President of ICSID (Germany)